Ella C. White Memorial Scholarship Fund

Giving Students Hope for the Future



Ella C. White Scholarship Fund awards $23,500 to help students with college

Hilton Head Island, SC – July 11, 2016 - The Ella C. White Memorial Scholarship Fund distributed $23,500 in scholarships to 25 local high school seniors and college students at its annual awards program in May.

“Our goal from the beginning of the scholarship fund has been to help as many students as we can. With the cost of college continuing to rise, every little bit helps,” said Emma J. Campbell, chairman of the scholarship fund’s board of directors. “We’re glad that we are able to support students and their parents. It is a struggle for many of our recipients and their families to pay for college.”

Awards of $1,000 were given to the following Hilton Head High School graduates: Alexis Housey, Edward Days III, Treasure Days, Alison Cohen, Malika Williams and Nicholas Yurco. Also receiving $1000 awards were Bluffton High School graduates Brittany Kitty, Reyna Lawyer, Dae’Yonna Anderson, Kiari Moore, Mikeidrea Feacher, Learic Gaskins, Nashira Riley, Ebony Gadson, Aubrey Jenkins, Khadell Ergas, Hannah Weltzel and Jayla Hutcheson. In recognition of their academic achievements, Treasure Days and Ebony Gadson each received an additional $1000, thanks to a donation the Hilton Head Island Concours d'Elegance made to the scholarship fund.

 The following college students, who previously received a scholarship from the Ella C. White fund, received awards of $500 each: Hannah Collins, South Carolina State University; Tiffany Banks, University of South Carolina; Emma McGoldrick, University of South Carolina; Samuel Jones, University of Mount Union; James Wiggins, Winthrop University; Rashayda Martin and Ricquel Jenkins.

Students are selected for awards based on their financial need and commitment to further their education. The scholarship is named for the former public school educator, Ella C. White, who was married to Nathaniel White, a native of Hilton Head Island. Mrs. White died in 1972; scholarships have been awarded since 1973, originally to students at the former H.E. McCracken High School in Bluffton.

Mrs. White’s family established the scholarship as a memorial to her dedication to teaching and helping students excel. The Eureka Club of Hilton Head, of which Mrs. White was a member, administers the scholarship fund; its members serve as the board of the directors.The board raises money for scholarships through donations and an annual fund-raising dinner.

This year’s fund-raising dinner will be held on Friday, November 4, at the Sonesta Resort in Shipyard. The guest speaker will be The Honorable Judge Mablean Ephriam, presiding judge of the reality courtroom television show, “Justice with Judge Mablean,” and author of “Life Lessons: Tools for Weekly Living.” Tickets for the affair are $75. For tickets or sponsorship information, call Carolyn Grant at 843-422-0707 or Carol Campbell at 843-684-1644.


Our Condolences to the Family of the Late Mrs. Annette J. Wright

Mrs. Wright was a founding member of the Eureka Club, which serves as the board of directors for the Ella C. White Memorial Scholarship Fund. For many years, she was the secretary for both the Eureka Club and the Scholarship Fund Board of Directors. She provided longstanding service and was a faithful member of both until her passing.


Local high school and college students awarded scholarships 

The Ella C. White Memorial Scholarship Fund awared $21,500 in scholarships to 17 graduating seniors at Bluffton High School and Hilton Head Island High School, and 10 college students. Our congratulations to these recipients.